Thursday, February 27, 2020
No menu items!

Facebook’s 10 Minute Message Eraser Comes To Messenger

Must Read

Manchester City Set To Appeal Ban From Europe

The world of football is waiting with bated breath to see if Manchester City lodges an appeal against a...

Stardust Fails To Glitter As Oscars Lose Audience

The magic of the Oscars used to sprinkle a smattering of stardust as Hollywood celebrated glittering movies in style. But...

Can You Claim A Share Of Yahoo’s Data Breach Claim Settlement?

Around 500 million internet users who trusted web portal Yahoo to look after their personal information can claim a...

It’s easy to send a social media message typed in anger or drunkenness, but now a once secret feature on Facebook lets anyone delete them after sending – providing they are quick off the mark.

Months ago, Facebook admitted a back-end feature to protect executive messages allowed bosses at the social media network to delete their sent messages.

Once they were rumbled, founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg promised not to activate the feature until the app was generally available to all users.

Well, now that seems to have happened.

Zuckerberg’s magic eraser allowed him to delete any message he had ever sent, but the new app has a 10 minute window and in group conversations, the deleted text is replaced by another message explaining the sender had removed the comment.

Facebook was unclear if executives now had to delete messages within the same window as other users or if they still have their super capabilities.

Facebook Messenger also has a message delete function in ‘secret conversations’, where users can set an auto-delete timer on their communications.

WhatsApp, another Facebook messaging service, also has the same function.

New security features from Google

Meanwhile, Google has launched new security features that check online for users to see if their passwords are compromised.

Password Checkup is a Chrome browser extension that warns if security credentials on a web site are compromised

Cross Account Protection is similar but warns if a Google account is compromised by a hacker, even if the security breach is on a web site outside of Google using a Google account for access.

Google’s Kurt Thomas, a security and anti-abuse research scientist said: “Your privacy and security is of the utmost importance. With technologies like Password Checkup and Cross Account Protection, we’re continuing to improve the security of our users across the internet, not just on Google – and we’ll never stop improving our defences to keep you safe online.

“Google never learns your username or password even through it collects the data.”

Google added that developers were seeking to co-operate with other technology companies to make cross account protection easy to implement.

Rival browser Firefox introduced a similar feature last year
>

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Manchester City Set To Appeal Ban From Europe

The world of football is waiting with bated breath to see if Manchester City lodges an appeal against a...

Stardust Fails To Glitter As Oscars Lose Audience

The magic of the Oscars used to sprinkle a smattering of stardust as Hollywood celebrated glittering movies in style. But the swagger has long gone...

Can You Claim A Share Of Yahoo’s Data Breach Claim Settlement?

Around 500 million internet users who trusted web portal Yahoo to look after their personal information can claim a share of $117.5 million compensation...

Trump Acquitted As Impeachment Show Trial Winds Up

In one of the least surprising events in Us politics, President Donald Trump has been acquitted of all charges at his impeachment trial. Well, some...

Wim Hof Method: Finding A New And Improved You

Take a deep breath and savour the moment. Breathing is something we all do all the time from the moment we’re born but hardly...

More Articles Like This